If you set up rollup tasks, important tasks are visible when the parent task is collapsed.
How to set up rollup
Open edit panel of the task you want to roll up.
Switch tab to advanced.
Check the rollup checkbox.
Close the edit panel by clicking the save button.
If you disable the rollup feature, rolled-up tasks disappear from the chart.